National

Do Dems Hate God?

Why all the booing and cat-calling during the Democratic Convention today when the Democrats reinstated God into their platform?  What causes such hatred for the very mention of God?  Sure, we all know there is a separation of Church and State, but to not recognize that our country was founded upon a belief in a Creator is burying your head in the sand.  No one has to believe in any God, but we should at least acknowledge what helped form our country and basic principles we started out with.  Government is not to endorse any one religion, but they certainly should acknowledge why we are even here in the first place.  People who believed in a God risked their very lives to come to a new land and form a country where they could escape the King’s heavy hand and believe in any manner they so chose.  Many of them died coming here, many more during the American Revolution.

God is a central part of our society, like it or not.  As much as the crazy left like to claim a freedom FROM religion, that is NOT in any Constitution I have ever read.  One has to stretch quite a bit to get to that belief.  If you wish to be an atheist, that is your right and I wouldn’t think of trying to force my belief system upon you.  However, you have no right to remove any mention of my religion or my God from the public.  If you don’t want to hear my belief, do the same as I do to your non-belief — do not listen.

We have to get away from this thin-skinned attitude so many have come to have.  We are Americans.  We are all people of different backgrounds, different beliefs, different religions and different ethnicity.  We used to agree to disagree but somewhere along the line we have lost that.  We need to get back there.  Remember the saying, “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it” (attributed to Voltaire, but actually written by Evelyn Beatrice Hall in 1906) .  Let’s try and live that way … we’ll all be much better off that way, Dems and Reps, Independents and everyone else.

About Bits 'n PCs

I was raised in a two-parent functional home and have worked hard the majority of my life. I started my first business at the age of 12 mowing lawns in my neighborhood. At age 14, I worked summers as a bricklayer's laborer and weekends as a machine shop janitor. I have come to enjoy politics but have grave concerns for our country and how it is changing and going deeper and deeper into debt. I also worry about people who willfully want to believe every sound bite their party puts out instead of fact-checking for the truth. Politics has become a very vicious 'game' in which there are virtually no rules and no limits anymore. It's time to set the record straight pertaining to ALL sides of the aisle. Thus, NewsWhores was born. Come watch us grow.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Please Leave a Reply

